Thero Makepe is the Tierney Fellow for Michaelis 2019

18 Jul 2019
18 Jul 2019

Thero Makepe is the Tierney Fellow for Michaelis for 2019

Congratulations to Thero Makepe, who has been awarded the 2019 Tierney Fellowship. The standard of the work of our nominees was very high, and all nominees are to be commended for outstanding photographs.

The Michaelis School of Fine Art, in partnership with The Tierney Family Foundation realises the importance of creating opportunities for photographers to cultivate the development of photographers and photography as a medium. The Tierney Fellowship creates an ideal space for a photographer to develop a body of work with financial support and mentorship from within UCT and also from artists and experts in the field. Thero will be mentored by Svea Josephy and Jean Brundrit.


The Tierney Fellowship programme ran for the first time in South Africa in 2008 and partner institutions include the Michaelis School of Fine Art at the University of Cape Town., Market Photo Workshop, WITS School of Arts.


Previous Michaelis Tierney Fellows

2008 – Rob Watermeyer
2009 – Arianne Questiaux
2010 – Aubrey Tseleng
2011 – Vincent Bezuidenhout
2012 – Nobokho Nqaba
2013 – Ashley Walters
2014 – Thandiwe Msebenzi
2015 – Sitaara Stodel
2016 – Lauren Theunissen
2017 – CJ Chandler

2018 –Garth Meyer