Who is the HSC?

The Humanities Students' Council (HSC) is a student governance structure representing the common interest of undergraduate students in the Faculty of Humanities. The HSC is made up of ten accountable, transparent and inspired students who are determined to make sure that your experience of the Faculty is enriching to your academic and social wellbeing. Elections for HSC are held annually in August.

Role of the HSC

  • Our role is to ensure that undergraduate student voices and opinions are heard and taken into consideration during policy debates and implementation within the Faculty of Humanities.
  • We are the bridge between the students, academic staff and Faculty management. We sit on various governance structures within the university. These include: sub-councils, Faculty committees, Dean's Advisory Committee and Student Parliament all aimed at the betterment of quality teaching and learning for students. 
  • We strive to work closely with the University's Students' Representative Council (SRC) as well as other Faculty Councils to facilitate the exchange of ideas and maximise support for students on campus
  • We rely on support from our constituency. The HSC can only tackle problems that it is informed about.

2022 Council Members

Chairperson Yolisa Shologu hsc.chairperson@uct.ac.za
Vice Chair: External Nomtha Salamntu hsc.vcuc@uct.ac.za
Vice Chair: Internal Ntsika Sakati hsc.vcsc@uct.ac.za
Secretary Khazimla Salamntu hsc.secretary@uct.ac.za
Treasurer Lisa Makumese hsc.treasurer@uct.ac.za

Academic Chair: Arts

Asemahle Gwebu hsc.aca@uct.ac.za

Academic Chair: Social Sciences

Sindisiwe Mhlabeni hsc.acss@uct.ac.za

Student Health and Safety Officer

Sitaarah Cornelius

Transformation & Community Outreach Officer Yamkela Mavela hsc.transformation@uct.ac.za
Public Relations Officer Lilitha Buti hsc.pr@uct.ac.za


2022 HSC Members