Dr Dr Kate Highman (

Course outline

The Honours in English Literary Studies curriculum comprises four taught courses (two compulsory courses and two electives) and a research essay.

Compulsory (core) courses

ELL4001H Research Essay/Project

ELL4061F Theory in Practice

ELL4062S Literary Criticism and the Archive

Elective courses

The remaining two courses may be selected from a list of departmental electives. Subject to approval by the Head of Department, an elective offered by a cognate department may replace one or more of the listed electives.

Electives offered


How to apply