The Afrikaans and Netherlandic Studies department has a long and rich history at the University of Cape Town (UCT) since its inception. Celebrated Afrikaans writers and academics such as D.J. Opperman, N.P van Wyk Louw, Roy Pfeiffer, Henning Snyman and Chris van der Merwe have all richly contributed as Head of Department to the development of Afrikaans at UCT in previous years.

In recent times, influential writers Etienne van Heerden (Fiction) and Joan Hambidge (Poetry), and literary critic Chris van der Merwe have steered the Afrikaans department into the twenty-first century. Lecturers in the department contribute to the M.A. programme in Creative Writing, offered by the School of Languages, in the Faculty of Humanities.

Prof Etienne van Heerden (above left) received an honorary doctorate from the University of the Free State in 2012. Lecturer Sonja Loots (above centre) won the 2012 Eugene Marais award for her historical novel, Sirkusboere. After winning the Donald Gordon Creative Arts Award 2010, Associate Prof Mark Fleishman (above right) produced Die Vreemdeling, his first Afrikaans language play.

Programmes offered:

The Afrikaans and Netherlandic Studies section offers a two-year major with vibrant undergraduate courses:

  • Afrikaans prose and poetry, together with
  • Dutch prose and poetry,
  • Undergraduate courses Afrikaans for Professionals,
  • Afrikaans Media course
  • Afrikaans Intensive courses popular among Foreign Visiting Students.
  • Afrikaans Communication Skills courses are offered to undergraduate Health and Rehabilitation students and Medical students.

Students can register for a two year major in Afrikaans and Netherlandic studies with the permission of the Section Head.