Funding and Travel Opportunities

Information about funding your studies at the University of Cape Town can be found on the University’s Undergraduate Funding and Postgraduate Funding pages.

The Ursula Vogel Trust Award is available to postgraduate members of the Classical Association of South Africa to conduct research on an approved topic at an academic institution abroad or alternatively to follow an approved itinerary of sites in the classical world. 

Prizes and Awards

In addition to class medals, the Classics Section awards a number of named prizes established through the generosity of past donors. These are given to top-performing undergraduate students and include the Laurence Prize for the best undergraduate Greek student, the Douallier Prize for the best first-year Latin student, the William Rollo Prize for the best second-year Latin student, and the Mary Renault Memorial PEN Prize for the best undergraduate student in Ancient History.

  • about the prize donors.


    Sir Perceval Maitland Laurence (1854-1930) studied Classics at Cambridge before moving to the Cape Colony in 1878 where he practised law and was soon appointed as a judge. In 1925 he endowed the University of Cape Town with the Sir Laurence Gift which supports the Laurence Prize.

    Oscar Dalton de Douallier (1837-1906) came to the Cape Colony from France and was a longtime schoolmaster at the private Educational Institute in Roeland Street where he taught Latin grammar. The Douallier Prize for Latin was set up in his memory by his former pupils in 1917.

    William Rollo (1892-1960) was both lecturer and later Professor in Classics at the University of Cape Town, as well as (in retirement) the first principal of the University College of Rhodesia and Nyasaland. The William Rollo Prize was established as a memorial in 1961 through a donation by his widow, Mrs C. R. Rollo.

    Mary Renault (1905-1983) was an English writer who lived in South Africa best known for her historical novels set in ancient Greece. Renault was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and served as the president of the South African chapter of the writers’ association PEN for many years. In 1985 the Mary Renault Prize was founded by PEN South Africa in her memory.

The Classical Association of South Africa holds an annual essay competition open to undergraduate and honours students, and awards a translation prize for the best student translation from or into Latin or Greek.

Social Media

Like or follow the UCT Classics Facebook Page, or follow UCT Classics on Twitter or Instagram to stay informed about news and events.


The Classical Association of South Africa (CASA) promotes the study and appreciation of classical antiquity in South Africa. CASA holds regular branch meetings and organises a biennial conference.

The Egyptian Society of South Africa (TESSA) holds regular meetings and seminars on the history and archaeology of ancient Egypt.

The Southern African Society for Near Eastern Studies (SASNES) promotes the study of the Near East, including North Africa, and holds an annual conference.

The Southern African Society of Medieval and Renaissance Studies (SASMARS) aims to promote scholarly interest and research in Medieval and Renaissance Studies (including late antiquity) in Southern Africa and further afield. The society hosts a biennial conference.