The UCT Philosophy Society was founded in 1982 by Zak van Straaten, who was then Professor and Head of the Philosophy Department. 

Philosophy Society Chairs

Augustine Shutte: 1982 to 1986
Zak van Straaten: 1987 to c1990
David Brooks: c1991 to c1994
Paul A. Taylor: c1994 to August 1995 
Alex Pestana: August 1995 to September 1997.
David Benatar: Since September 1997