The African Studies Unit offers a full academic programme, concentrated at the graduate level but also including some undergraduate courses. The following degrees are offered as part of the graduate programme:

  • Postgraduate Diploma in African Studies
  • Honours in African Studies
  • Taught Masters in African Studies (in which the dissertation counts 50%)
  • Research Masters in African Studies (by dissertation only)
  • PhD in African Studies

The African Studies Unit is staffed by faculty with a range of disciplinary backgrounds, who work collaboratively as an interdisciplinary team. Existing teaching strengths and research directions include:

  • African and African diasporic critical and intellectual traditions
  • Postcolonial and decolonial theory
  • Questions of public culture, heritage and memory
  • Questions of archive and curation
  • Questions of African literature and culture
  • Agrarian Studies and questions of land reform and redistribution
  • African political economy

Students have substantial freedom in constructing a curriculum that suits their interests. There are also two named streams in African Studies:

  • An Honours degree in African Literature and Culture
  • Honours and Masters degrees in Public Culture and Heritage in Africa


Full details of our academic programme are available in the Humanities Faculty Handbooks

For many of our degrees, we admit students both at the beginning of the year (February), and mid-year at the start of the second semester (July).

Interested students are invited to email faculty working in their area of interest for further information, or to arrange a Skype meet.

Applications to the African Studies Unit are made through the central university application system

Students looking for financial assistance are directed to the university’s postgraduate funding office

Guidelines of the African Studies Association for Members’ Ethical Conduct in Research and Other Professional Undertakings in Africa:

For students in the department:

African Studies Unit Ethics Form 

African Studies Unit Informed Consent Form