The 2010 – 2012 Emerging Theatre Director’s Bursaries were made possible by GIPCA, Theatre Arts Admin Collective, the Baxter Theatre Centre and the Distell Foundation. The Bursary served as an opportunity for young directors to continue to develop their skills, be mentored in the creation of a new piece of work, have their work seen by a wider audience (particularly theatre producers) and help establish them in the profession of directing. One of the Bursary’s aims was to affirm directing as a prospective career choice, creating a space for emerging directors to keep developing their craft through working with a mentor.  The mentorship programme also connected emergent and established directors, ensuring a transfer and exchange of knowledge and skills.

2012  Emerging Theatre Director’s Bursary winners:

  • Khayelihle Dominique Gumede
  • Lidija Marelic
  • Nicola Elliott
  • Thando Doni

2011  Emerging Theatre Director’s Bursary winners:

  • Kim Kerfoot
  • Leopold Senekal
  • Pusetso Thibedi
  • Tsepo Wa-Mamatu

2010  Emerging Theatre Director’s Bursary winners:

  • Amy Jephta
  • Asanda Phewa
  • Tara Louise Notcutt